Tips

Top 5 ways to improve your privacy on Telegram

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Telegram is one of the most feature-packed instant messaging apps and one of the most trusted alternatives to the app What’s Up Which has been subjected to a lot of doubts recently about the issue of security and privacy, but the Telegram application lacks some privacy matters, so in the article we review the most important 5 ways to improve your privacy on the Telegram application.

Once you create an account on Telegram, the application will show your phone number publicly, and it will send a notification to all your contacts at the same moment that you have subscribed to the application, which is not popular with many, and fortunately, there are a number of security and privacy features that may Help you improve your privacy on the app.

Top 5 ways to improve your privacy on Telegram

Decide who can add you in a group or call

Telegram offers a number of options that help you manage who can interact with your account, including selecting who can add you to a group or call.

This option allows you to prevent someone from adding you to a group or call without your knowledge as you can limit this to only your contacts or a number of them.

Telegram
  • Go to Settings, then Privacy and Security.
  • Click on the Groups or Calls option.
  • Choose who can add you to a group or call and either select all, contacts only, or no one.

However, it should be noted that the No-one option is limited only to calls, but with regard to groups, the application only allows the selection of contacts.

Hide phone number

The Telegram application provides the ability to hide the phone number, which is a great feature that helps you in the event that you have been added in a public group, so the rest of the members are not entitled to see your profile and your phone number.

Top 5 ways to improve your privacy on Telegram 1
  • Go to Settings and then Privacy and Security section.
  • Select the phone number option.
  • When you choose Who can see my phone you can select Nobody.
  • When the option Who can find my profile by phone number you can select your contacts option.

You can’t prevent others from finding you by your phone number but your maximum option is your contacts, you can also add one or more exceptions to individual contacts so that they can’t find you when searching using your phone number.

Hide your online status and last seen

Unfortunately you can’t disable flags that show if you’ve received or seen a message but you can still hide your online presence or the last time you were active from prying eyes. Here’s how to hide your online status and last seen:

  • Go to Settings and then click on Privacy and Security.
  • Go to Last Seen & Online.
  • Below the Who can see your last seen option, you can choose Nobody.

This way, no one will be able to see if you are online or not and when you were last seen, but you also will not be able to see when your contacts were last seen.

Prevent your contacts from sharing your profile by forwarding messages

Another unwanted thing that can cause privacy issues is the ability for your contacts to share the profile by forwarding your messages.

Outside of a secret or private chat, a member can repost your private message. By default, that message includes the person’s name and profile. Fortunately, you can cancel this by following the following steps:

  • Go to Settings, then Privacy and Security.
  • Select Forwarded Messages.
  • Under Who can add a link to your personal account, select Nobody.

Note that since the update of Telegram at the end of August, people can hide the name of the author of the message before sharing it with others, so feel free to ask your contacts to hide your name in case they forward one of your messages to others.

Do not create a username

You can create a public username on Telegram, which allows you to use the link t.me/username, which allows anyone to contact you without having to know your number, and this feature should be avoided if you want to have some privacy on the application, as it will appear in the contact search box under General results and they will be able to send you messages even if you don’t know your number.

How to remotely delete lost or stolen phone data

Have an article/sponsored post to share? Whatsapp: +2348129656985.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Pin It