Usually, when you use a Google product, such as: a smartphone running the Android operating system, a speaker that supports the Google Assistant, or even a Google Chrome browser to search or watch videos on YouTube, Google will store your activity log on the company’s servers where you can browse it whenever you want. Via the My Activity page and manually deleting it.
And since all this data is private and sensitive, which makes it possible for another person to access it may affect you a lot, for that, Google added the feature of two-factor authentication (2FA) if you enable it it will add an extra layer of security to make sure that you are the only one who can access it. This data.
What are the details?
According to Google: “If you turn on the two-factor authentication feature, Google will confirm your identity before you can see or delete your full record on the My Activity page as this can help keep your record more secure on shared devices, knowing “This setting only applies to your activity, as your record may still appear in other products.”
Although this new feature can be useful when using a shared computer or if you leave your computer without locking it, it still uses logging into your Google account without protecting your data with an additional password, so if you are not comfortable keeping your activity log, bear in mind. That you can delete it and control what is saved within the (Activity controlActivity Control.
How to protect your Google activity history from unauthorized access with a password:
- On your computer’s web browser, go to the My Activity page by clicking on this Link.
- A pop-up window will appear, alerting you to the availability of the new feature, under the Manage My Activity verification link.
- Click on the Manage option in the pop-up window, then click on the same link above.
- A pop-up window will appear for you, select the option (Request additional verification), then click on the Save option.
- You will be taken to the regular login page to your Google account, enter the password to confirm your ownership of the account, then click Next.
- You will be taken back to the My Activity page, but you will see that the Full History menu has been completely locked.
- To view your activity history, click on Verify.
Notice: If you store your account password in the Google browser, the activity history will be displayed directly, but if you are using a shared computer or have not saved the password in the browser, you will be taken to the standard login page that requires entering the code sent to your phone to confirm that you are logged in to the Google account. Your.