Twitter has launched a new feature for iOS users, allowing them to restrict the number of people who can respond to tweets in an effort to help users have deeper and more focused conversations with people of their choice, in order to prevent abuse or harassment from During negative responses to the tweet.
The new feature allows users of the Twitter application in the operating system (iOS) to restrict responses to only people who follow them, or even other users mentioned in the tweet only, by selecting a choice from three options in each new tweet before publishing it, otherwise everyone who follows you will be able to Reply as normal by default.
Although this feature will be useful when it comes to reducing the potential for harassment in your Tweets, people who follow you can still see Tweets, even if they are not allowed to respond.
The company mentioned in another description Update For the application on the App Store: “In May, we tested a new way to have conversations with exactly whoever you want, so that you can create tweets and exchange more opinions with specific people. Now, everyone can try this new feature and choose who can respond to their tweets.” .
How to restrict who can reply to Tweets:
The feature is available so far for users of the operating system version (iOS), and there is no information about when it will be available for users of the Android operating system or the desktop version, but it is expected to be released soon in future updates.
To use the feature on iOS, follow these steps:
- Open the Twitter app on your phone.
- Create a new Tweet, then click on Everyone can reply at the top of the keyboard to choose who can reply to your Tweet.
- You will see three options:
Everyone: This is the default option for all accounts, and it means everyone can reply to your Tweet, and if your Tweets are protected, then only people who follow you can respond.
People you follow: Only people you follow will be able to reply, as well as anyone you refer to in the Tweet.
Only people you mention: Only people you tag in the Tweet will be able to reply.
- Once you have chosen the setting that suits you, click on Tweet to post it.
Points to note when using the feature:
- When choosing one of the last two options, the reply icon will be grayed out so that it is clear to people who cannot reply to this Tweet.
- The restrictions you place on your Tweets will only apply to others’ ability to respond to Tweets, as any of your followers can still interact with your Tweet, such as: liking or retweeting, or voting on a poll you include in your Tweet.
- Once the Tweet is published, you can only change the restrictions later by deleting the Tweet completely.