Audby has acknowledged that the recent update of the (Lightroom) photo-editing app for (iOS) devices has permanently deleted users’ photos and custom filters if they do not pay for a subscription to sync their files with the Adobe cloud service.
Over the past few days, photographers have suffered from a state of confusion after downloading the latest update from Udby for the (Lightroom) application, and their previous photos and settings suddenly disappeared, and Udby confirmed the problem, and said: The data was permanently deleted.
The problem resulted from an update to the (Lightroom) app, which is used to organize and edit photos without changing the original image, something that the iOS photo editor does not do.
Ironically, users who were using the app to preserve their original photos now find that these photos have been permanently deleted, with no mechanism in place to recover them.
One user complained, saying: I spoke with customer service for more than 4 hours during the past two days, and they tell me now that the problem has no solution and these lost photos cannot be recovered, I have lost more than two years of photo adjustments.
The company released another update to prevent this issue from affecting additional customers, however, deleted photos cannot be recovered, and installing version 5.4.1 will not restore lost photos or previous settings to clients affected by the version 5.4.0 issue.
Adobe released A statement Largely echoes Flaher’s comments, the statement states that the issue specifically affected users of the Lightroom app for mobile devices without an Adobe cloud subscription, as well as subscribers who had previous photos and settings that were not synced with the Adobe cloud service at the time of the update .
The company also indicated that some customers may be able to restore their data from iPhone or iPad backups.
We know how frustrating and upsetting this is for the people affected, and we sincerely apologize for it, “Adobe said.
It is noteworthy that this is not the first time that the company’s errors caused the loss of users’ photos, as Canon closed its platform (image.canon) earlier this month after a storage problem that led to the loss of some image and video files.